Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
81 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey,
i finally got to ride my new (to me) 04 zr 900 and noticed some apv drain oil, i am new to apv so i am unsure how much is ok and how much is not. what is normal to see on your trailer after a short or long ride. i will be taking them apart to clean even though its only got 836 miles to install shims that i purchased from fastzilla (thanks again). if there is anything io should look out for let me know.
thanks alot your help would be great!
zrcat

·
Registered
371 Posts
hey,
i finally got to ride my new (to me) 04 zr 900 and noticed some apv drain oil, i am new to apv so i am unsure how much is ok and how much is not. what is normal to see on your trailer after a short or long ride. i will be taking them apart to clean even though its only got 836 miles to install shims that i purchased from fastzilla (thanks again). if there is anything io should look out for let me know.
thanks alot your help would be great!
zrcat[/b]
Giving them a good cleaning 2 - 3 times a season is a good idea, and maybe consider using a good oil designed for power valves. I use ipone, another good one is amsoil but everyone has a preference just make sure it's good quality and intended for use with power valves. Hope you enjoy you new torque monster, best of luck. :div20:

·
Registered
221 Posts
I use AMS Interceptor and have had great luck with very little oil coming out of my drain hoses and the valves not sticking. My pointers when rebuilding them would be to be sure you put them back in right side up and adjust the cables to the exact same length. Also, don’t forget the blue lock tight when installing them. When I did my APV’s, I notice my manual has a misprint. I couldn’t get close the manuals recommended cable length settings so I posted the questions on Arcticchat and was told to set them at 1.51”. It worked great! I think my manual said 1.24 max.