Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
while servicing my sled I went to check the APV valves. Took off servo cover and found the PTO valve sticky, so I decided to pull and clean them both. Mag side blade not too bad, but PTO side stuck..hard to get it out. Cleaned up relatively easy..at least compared to VES blades. Reassembled and checked the cable adjustment...WOW, way off!?! Now I have the performance manual, and it says 1.423" to 1.501" is acceptible.. Mine were like 1.3" What's up with that? Anyone else check that? What changes should I notice now that it is adjusted correctly? Also, it took nearly all the adjustment threads to bring it into specs. I need a little feedback on this, as I'm new to the APV system.

·
Premium Member
4,431 Posts
Mine were also in the 1.3 range. I wouldnt sweat being close to end of adjustment. I cant imagine the cables streching more. I'm very certain they are off from factory (big suprise).

What oil are you running? Not going to start oil wars, i use the straight amsoil. 400 miles (oooooohhh woooowwwww) and clean as a whistle.

If the cables were short, that means the valves were opening early, before the hp/tq curve. How much was being left on the table?????

Pat

·
Registered
6,128 Posts
Rob same thing on my f5-where short and took up most of adjustment-i have only 500 miles on sled and mine where perfect,also running amsoil-i doubt you will feel any difference in trail riding setting up correct length,but if they broke or came off servo motor,thats where you notice a difference.i sure noticed a difference in shimming down my driven clutch on f5 though,but in adjusting cables,seat of the pants not really,maybe on a timer different story-scott

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Originally posted by ZREFIrider@Jan 15 2003, 04:52 PM