Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
O.K. guys I am a 15 year veteran of the Yamaha brigade but I can't help but be intrigued by these ne Firecats. I have read thru all the forums and problems and such and I was just wondering if you guys would buy them again and are they worth the troubles you have had with them. You have to admit the Yamahas have great fit and finish along with extreme reliability, but they have nothing snopro style our for someone who likes to ride extremely hard by sx is beating the hell out of me compared to the rev's and cats etc. So what do you think make the switch to Cat possibly a REV or stick with what I have and buy some suspension things for mine. Basically are all of you HAPPY with the FIRECATS as I am looking at a leftover 03 F7 tonight.

Thanks For your time. Jamie

·
Registered
369 Posts
You can't make your Yami ride anywhere near like an F7 no matter what you do. I would buy. Now, you should be able to find some GREAT deals out there (I have seen $5,000). The 03 and 04 F7's are exactly the same except for some updates (that can be done to your 03). The ONLY problem that sparked all the questions on here regardign engine issues was related to oil pump inconsistencies. Some have had 0 problems and some people siezed a piston. Right now, there is a temporary fix and a permanent one coming. Cat WILL stand behind any F7 they sold that might have these related problems in the future.

Remember, they sold like 18,000 F7's so the complaints would be higher because more were sold. Mine is awsome with no problems.

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I appreciate your reply. There has to be more happy fircat owners out there I want to here about how you like your cat??

Thanks Jamie

·
Registered
1,100 Posts