Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
883 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looks like a bought myself a project,,, 03 zr900,,2300 MILES on it,, took it for a rip up the field,, tops out at 40mph,,, get back to shop,, pull plugs ,to my surprise the end is broke of the plug wire up in the boot,,so there is part of the problem,,then pto side 124lbs,, other one 134, I am new to the zr, but i know i have to check valves, probably never cleaned,, then the compression issue ???,, you guys fill in the blanks,,, any other suggestion would be nice,,, thanks

STEVE

p.s forgot it has a black magic head on it ,,so i dont know what other engine work has been done to it,, I am trying to find out!!

·
Premium Member
20,861 Posts
Get it running on both sides and check that the valves open and that it will rev to 7500 or so. 7400-7700 is good. If not pull the gummed up or stuck valves, look in at the pistons while the valves are out and then replace the weight bushings/pins in the clutch. Take light if you do not have clutch tools and look down beside the weights, the weights should be centered in the spider and not rubbing or chewing it. Clean the carbs too.

·
Premium Member
12,762 Posts
Looks like a bought myself a project,,, 03 zr900,,2300 MILES on it,, took it for a rip up the field,, tops out at 40mph,,, get back to shop,, pull plugs ,to my surprise the end is broke of the plug wire up in the boot,,so there is part of the problem,,then pto side 124lbs,, other one 134, I am new to the zr, but i know i have to check valves, probably never cleaned,, then the compression issue ???,, you guys fill in the blanks,,, any other suggestion would be nice,,, thanks

STEVE

p.s forgot it has a black magic head on it ,,so i dont know what other engine work has been done to it,, I am trying to find out!![/b]
-remove / clean / service both clutches
-install torque arm (Sno Tek on mine)
-align clutches
-set belt deflection
-clean valves