Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
937 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's been a while since I installed one, to advance timing which way does the key go? :dunno:

·
Premium Member
1,873 Posts
It's been a while since I installed one, to advance timing which way does the key go? :dunno:[/b]

The best way to put a timing key in is to open it up, walk into your kitchen and throw it in the trash can.
Bad gas once and your engine is junk!!!

You are going to get a bunch of guys on here say .. I ran one in mine for a cazillion miles and never had a problem.

I am a mechanic and can't begin to tell you how many trail engines I rebuilt from a key and took the key out and put the stock one back in.

They work great in a race sled when they are off and on, a trail sled always pops them in the mid range
Buy one, blow your sled up... It good for the economy that sucks right now.

·
Registered
937 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
You need to advance the flywheel clockwise with the key.[/b]
Yes that is what I thought but I wasn't sure.
It has been 5500 reliable miles on my 2000 T-Cat with 01 engine & electronics since I installed one in a next to new engine. I put in a 2 degree key from Black Magic and it is the one decideable thing that finally got me over 120 mph.

I don't have to worry about a bunch of guys going a cazillion miles. I only have 5500 miles worth of experience and that is enough for me. My plugs and domes always looked great. I am a pretty fair engine mechanic myself. I don't have EGT's but I have never had a problem with the midrange lean spot. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

I guess maybe I will be OK since the econmy does not suck so bad in Canada :) :) :flag_canada: :) :)

·
Premium Member
1,873 Posts
Yes that is what I thought but I wasn't sure.