Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Some of you know I've been working in the industry for a few years now. I have a job now that I will be starting that has nothing to do with snowmobiles or any powersports and I'm happy as ever. Snowmobiling was always my life long family and personal hobby. I went to school and got a 4 year degree in automotive emgineering technology. After that I went to work for a small polaris engine remanufacture and clutch shop in southern MN (we will call this job1). Alot of you know the name. And then to escape that so I could actually get paid I went to a polaris / cat dealer (we will call this job2)

1. You know the saying "if you love what your doing for a job you never actually work a day in your life." Well thats wrong. I love working on my sled and improving it here and there. So I took job one. I should have known to be weary when I was offered a wage that was worse money than ive ever made in my life. I denyed that, but then was called back for an ok starting wage. Time goes on. End up working 6 am to 6 pm every day for a month. The owner decides to buy a bigger shop. Awesome! Except he lays us off and expects us to come in to work as "volunteers" to move the shop. And if we don't he will offer us a job back and give us zero hours so he doesnt have to pay in for unemployment. He did it before, for someone he fired. So months of that crap, promised we would be reimbursed. I find out that's a lie. And after working 10 to 12 hour days to move his shop he tells his last 2 loyal grunt workers (clutch guy me and engine builder other guy) who both went to school for this. That we need to work harder, we are a disgrace to the male species and we need to go cry to our mommies.... Both of us left on the spot. I had a job within an hour down the road at job 2 which would give me better hours and much better pay.