Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
28,686 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When i was putting the skid back on my sled a week ago, i noticed that where the front axel bolts into the tunnel, there are actually 6 holes to chose from... they all have the steel backing plate, but small, black plugs covering the holes. The rear axels dont have another adjustment hole that i am aware of, but is it possible to drill a hole lower on the tunnel to get extra height on the back half of the sled??? I am a skilled welder and i can weld aluminum, just curious to see if this idea will work. If not, is there any way to fab up a "lift kit" so to speak? I'll take pics tomarrow when my camera is charged for better clarification.

Thanks!
:beerchug:

·
Registered
10,641 Posts
as long as the front and rear mounting points stay the same distance apart as stock, yes you can move them. if you just want a little added height at the rear bumper, drill the rear mounts 1" lower. that should bring it up at least 2" at the bumper.

·
Registered
15,182 Posts
The lower you put your front mounts the higher the approach angle the track has. Might want to be careful how high you go with this. I dont think anything is ever gained by making the anlge more intense. Im pretty sure you would lose track speed, and also trench easier in deep snow. Not sure, but im pretty sure

·
Registered
1,585 Posts
There was a company MLM that used to sell a ''long legs kit''to convert the 8'' fastrack skid to( 13.5? or something like that) give you more sus. travel They used to advertise in all the sled mags not sure if they still do :dunno: Maybe someone on here knows more about it

·
Registered
697 Posts