Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using regular and put on 200 miles since I bought my 2004 500 xc. I was wondering if anyone noticed a difference by running super instead of regular gas.

Mine has the switch for the higher octane gas.

·
Registered
1,489 Posts
I have been using regular and put on 200 miles since I bought my 2004 500 xc. I was wondering if anyone noticed a difference by running super instead of regular gas.

Mine has the switch for the higher octane gas.[/b]
i heard that running higher octane gas on the premium setting advances the timing on the sled. some ppl say they noticed a dif others say no. personally i run premium with the light on and hav always since i bought it. if theres is a dif it prolly isnt anything remarkable.

·
Registered
468 Posts
it does advance the timing when ran on the premimum setting. this is nothing new.

personally i notice it runinng a bit more crisp and "well rounded". nothing to write home about, but i run it with premimum because of it...

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Also premium around here doesn't have any ethanol in it, it is real gas. All of the regular around here has ethanol and you could have problems with gas if you get more than 10% ethanol becouse you are going to go lean.

·
Registered
668 Posts
I know for my XCR with the key on the premium setting they recommend 91 octane, non premium key setting is 89 octane. Regular gas is only 87 octane.

·
Registered
1,122 Posts
Now that all regular gas has ethanol in it, I'm running premium to be extra cautious. Most pumps are labeled "up to 10% ethanol", that's alot. Shouldn't have any problems with icing up when your gas is 10% alcohol though. ;)

·
Registered
2,170 Posts
I can't see not running it on the premium setting. I used to see 150-200 rpm change when moving the key at WOT. Those that don't see a difference either don't know the difference, or their clutching is too light to see it.

·