Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Premium Member
6,863 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
so yeah anyway, in the process of doing over the idler bearings and shocks / new track install / hyfax on my old edge rmk.

was backing out the front tourque arm skid bolt that bolts the skid to the tunnel.

Toolbox Automotive tire Bumper Set tool Automotive exterior
Plant Tire Tree Cloud Grass

trying to get out that bolt was irratating as shit so i looked up at the local hardware store and found an eletric impact gun , 8.5 amp , on sale for 70 bucks. picked up a set of impact sockets for about the same again.

i figured electric impacts were junk and i was skeptical but sure enough, cracked on her with that and backed it out like a breeze.

i then tried dissaembling all the idlers with it and man , what a comfort this tihng is.

obviously airs better, and if i was doing this for a living or something it would be that. but not having to buy a compressor etc, for banging around the shed, its the tits and i love this thing.

highly recommend for the do it yourselfer. worth its weight in gold imo.

so if your a non mechanic do it yourselfer guy who likes to mess with old iron and are skeptical on the electric impacrs like i was, dont be.there a great tool. very pleased.

Cheers, ZR800

Reactions: fitter002

·
Premium Member
6,863 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
soeedo key was just about to snap and speedo side bearings toast. just caught her in time .another couple miles she would have smacked off. never know what youll find when you start tearing these old steeds down.

rear idler bearings were toast.one in particular was nearly completely stuck. others pretty bad also. defnitely didnt help with all that drag.

still in the market for a good used rear track shock if anyones got one, 17' eye to eye.

Reactions: MuscleD

·
Registered
17 xcr 800 2/xcr800 2000
1,377 Posts