Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 98 polaris storm 800. I installed rail extensions to 136 track with 1.5 paddles. Still has plenty of mid to topend power but kind of a bog at engagement now. Doesn't spin the track when I goose it going slow. Was looking at clutching to increase the engagement rpm. Now it has 10/58 weights and a white or almond looking beehive spring. Currently my max rpms are 8300 which feels good and enguages around 3800 rpms. I mostly trail ride but do open her up on the lakes nearby often.

·
Super Moderator
36,447 Posts
Not real good for trails, but you could slightly notch the flyweights, Polaris even sells some notched weights.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I dont really want to get into notching weights. I do have some 10/60 weights on the shelf but I have no experience or knowledge in what does what to what lol.

·
Super Moderator
36,447 Posts
I dont really want to get into notching weights. I do have some 10/60 weights on the shelf but I have no experience or knowledge in what does what to what lol.
The 60's will engage at less RPM's then your 10/58's, a spring with more pre-load tension or lighter weights will engage higher.

·
Registered
135 Posts
The Aaen book on clutching is an excellent reference for the science and art of the CVT clutch. If you plan on further modification of your clutching, you really need to buy it.

·
Registered
2012 Polaris Assault 800
1,175 Posts
Get that engagement up around 5000. Make sure your clutch is indexed so when it engages, it is like butter. The triples do not make crap for power down low. My old 600 triple/triple engaged at 5300 and it was super smooth. No issues on the trail. What spring is in the primary? I ran a EPI yellow, 165/310 in the primary.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter #10