Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 20 of 54 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My daughter and I went for a ride this afternoon and about 2 km down the trail after cusing under my breath about the ruts, I found the culprit. I advised the atv driver that the trails were not a place for him to ride, he was polite and apologetic stated he thought as long as they are not groomed it was ok. I advised he is trespassing on private property and in future to stay off. I then stopped a sled as the trail was narrow and ungroomed and the guy on the yamaha had to stop for us to pass one another, he had no pass, so I asked him where it was, his answer was "it is my first time out and I am getting one next week. I advised him as to the potential fines and that he needs a pass. I was happy to then pass 2 riders with their passes. Further along 3 more sleds on wider part of trail no visible passes. Kept going out and then turned to come back home after about 30 miles to pass about 6 sleds also unable to see any passes. I have come to the conclusion that we have a serious issue in this area with people riding without buying a trail pass and will be urging our chief warden to set up some patrols as soon as possible. We need to be out there or these guys will think it is a free for all. Alot of time money and work has gone into the trails in our area this fall and to see people out enjoying our trails is wonderful, but to see them not even contributing as much as the purchase of the pass is not acceptable and we must ensure that all users contribute to the upkeep through purchasing their trail pass. I rode out of Coniston on D headed east to 81 up to c105 rode to skead and then home same way. IMO 81 should be groomed is listed as open limited but no grooming D will have to wait c105 is nice just a little slag showing through in some wind blown spots . Here are a couple of pics.

[attachment=407170:new_year...2008_003.JPG][attachment=407169:new_year...2008_00