Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone, I'm new to snowmobiling and new to the forum but I got the bug real hard... and I ain't talking COVID. I'm planning on a buying a new sled downrange, but it's not in the near future so I want to make sure I maintain the one I have as best a I can. I got a 2001 Super Sport, in overall good shape, with 5000 KM (give or take 3000 miles). Been riding around the property mostly and some trail. I am looking to give it a good tune up this year, but I'm a bit intimidated and don't know where to start. there's lots of videos on you tube, sure, but not sure how much they apply to my sled or not. I have had an issue this year as well, the speedo gave up, which I know can indicate that the driveshaft bearing is going. I'm keen to do that repair, and tune up the overall machine, and if anyone would be so kind as to point me towards some good resources that'd be cool. Thanks !

·
Registered
943 Posts
Get a service manual and start reading would be my first suggestion. Start with the basics , changing spark plugs, changing chain case oil, adjusting track tension, replace fuel filter...

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you, that's a good place to start - I'll try and find the manual and go from there. Now if anybody has a good resource on changing the driveshaft bearing, that'd be A1.

·
Super Moderator
36,446 Posts
Thank you, that's a good place to start - I'll try and find the manual and go from there. Now if anybody has a good resource on changing the driveshaft bearing, that'd be A1.
Your info doesn't state where you're located, might help for parts.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5