Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi to everyone! I'm newbie here and first I'd like to apology my bad english (I'm from Finland that is where santa comes every christmas).

I have read those earlier topics about jetting. But repetition is the mother of learning. Right?

My ride is a 2005 Switchback 800 (witch I like by the way). I ride at sealevel (no mountains here in Finland) and temperature varies between -25'C to Zero (about -13F to 35F) and even warmer in the springtime.

Stock mains are 470s and needleclip # 4. How much leaner can I go without busting my motor and how about fuel screw (stock 1 turn)?

I'm allso installing a 2" padle 144" track (+ some bling-bling wheels from Mountain Machines) and would like to hear advices for clutching if needed. New gears I'm putting are 22/40.

This is a GREAT forum! :beerchug: Thax in advance...

·
Registered
924 Posts
Hello Sape welcome to hardcore sledder :div20: I'll try an help you out but if you can get incontact with a guy by the name of Pocket he will point you in the right direction. First of all gut you'r air box i dropped 20 points (Went from 470's to 450s) an i ride anywares from - 20c to +5c with no problems. Don't do any mile long pulls with the 450. My Fuel screw an Air screws are set to factory specs. Your factory specs are 1 turn for the Fuel screw an 1 turn for the Air screws. If you can run preium gas with the key switch set on preium. Make sure you'r carb slides clear the bore at wide open throttle an make sure you'r oil pump marks line up (mine was on the lean side). As far as your gearing changes you might want more than a 1.82 ratio with a 2 inch track try a 21/41 with a 74 pitch chain. This will give you a 1.95 ratioan you'll proabably end up with ethire 64/66 gram weights. Try a Polaris Almond/Blue 150/310 or Almond/Red 165/310 i'm not sure about a secondary will look around for ya an see what i can find later The Big Dog.

·
Registered