Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,
I'm fairly new to the sport and not very knowledgeable about sleds in general. I have some questions about my sled and why things are happening.
Well lets get started First off the sled is a 97 Ultra spx with 4000 miles on it I've had the watter pump serviced as somebody on here suggested. Otherwise I just rode the sled as I bought it. Well that was silly because I was racing with my farther across a pond and the track came apart. Well It did not mess up the heaT exchangers too bad as I locked the track up. I have bought a Kimpex Shot gun track with 96 picks it is being installed now. The fella that is installing the track said it needs a clutch as the face on the eng side has a 1/4 inch hole on it. So while the clutch is apart is there a clutch kit that would work well with the sled?? or anything I can do to it to make it better :D

and after all that it seems to be wicked boggy i guess is the word?? till like 5900 or so rpm what can I do to take care of this??? by the way I like to go fast what can I do? lol Thanks for any help ride safe Cheers

·
Registered
6,556 Posts
Gear it lower 22/40. Make sure the exhaust is sealed, including the outlet in the bellypan. Use ultra black to seal it. Use shim #7555764 under the tailpipe donuts to keep the springs tight. Make sure the mechanical carb sync is right on. It can be jetted down 2 sizes from stock, and you must run 91 octane fuel at a minimum. Use a 3211075 belt, with the primary shimmed properly for .020" clearance. The cheapest improvement to the clutching, would be 10-58 weights, and a silver/blue secondary, with an R12 polaris helix. Other helixes will work, but that will be the least $. Replace the almond primary spring with a new one. Have the clutch alignment checked, both engine torque stops set tight, no gap, and remove the windage plates from the secondary clutch.

·
Registered
6,804 Posts