Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We ran about 250 km yesterday around Innisfil, Barrie, Midland and through that whole part of Ontario. About 10 km from the trucks I lost about half power, so I paused and popped the hood. A fuel line popped off of the fuel pump going to the PTO carb. I put it back on and gave the sled a shot to see how things were. Everything seemed okay, so I waited a few seconds for the group to catch up. They reached me, and then from a stop I hit the throttle a second time. This time once I hit 6000 rpm the mill spun like crazy and I stopped moving. Yay for carnage in the chain case!

I'm a mechanic, so I'm going to take the sled into work on Monday to pull the cover off. Once I'm there I'll find out exactly what I need. I really hope that it's just a basic replace the chain, do the oil seal and be done with it. I really hope that I didn't take the splines off of the shaft or destroy a gear or anything like that.

I have a few questions though, as I've never had to open the chaincase on a sled.

Installation

1. Torque specs on the retainer nuts for the upper and lower sprockets?
2. How much tension should I put on the new chain?

Theory

3. Is it worth regearing? I mean, I like the power band as it is, but does something magical happen with these sleds if I drop or add teeth? This is more a concern if A sprocket broke, I guess.
4. 13 wide? That's stock, right? Can I fit a wider chain and gearset in there? Are these things known for grenading?

Thanks guys! Any info you can give will definitely help out.

·
Registered
485 Posts