Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 20 of 45 Posts

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just thought I'd share now that I have a camera

First I took off the seat and used marine silicone to seal all around the heat exchanger seal as there were a few missed spots.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Next I took liquid metal(JB Weld, etc) and filled in the spaces right where the tunnel kinks as the aluminum tape wasn't quite up to the task! :wacko:
As you can see I'm not a professional :p

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I then sealed off both sides of the tailight plastic with the silicone.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I then went and bought the thickest foam weatherstripping I could find(I believe it was 3/8") I used black closed cell, it's worked so far. I put a piece straight across the back of the tunnel so that it butted up against the plastic that the tailight wire runs through. Also when the seat is back on it should be just barely noticable. I then went across the rear side of the weatherstripping with a bead of silicone from one side to the other.
Then I cut a couple of smaller pieces and put them by the tunnel bends, just in case.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Now that the tunnel is done I turned my attention to the seat. I ran a piece of weatherstripping down each side of the seat front to back. After both sides were done I ran 2 pieces across the back of the seat parallel to each other: one that goes over top of the side pieces and then one right beside it but inside the side strips.
Confused yet? :D

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
I had a little bit of weatherstripping left over so I cut 2 small pieces. You can see the one, the other is under the rearmost strip where the groove is in the seat.

·
Registered
1,338 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
As you can see it's barely noticable that anything has been done and I have put on over 800 miles since this fix with ZERO ice.

·