Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
2021 Pro-S 850 137" 2016 SB 800 Pro-S 136"
4,596 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wondering if there is a downloadable trail map for the U.P. of Michigan area. Then, decent directions on how the heck to use this device to my advantage. I'm new to using this thing.

·
Registered
302 Posts
RWS has an overlay of trails (no link handy, sorry) Free.
GPSSledMaps.com has 'em (free).
VVMapping offers them as well (me, not free).

See other threads in this forum for some basic reviews.

As for using them... The very basic thing to do, once you load the maps to the GPS, is to change to the Map screen (page button on upper right side of GPS), zoom in/out and leave it alone. The map will move under you as you move.
Loading the maps to the GPS is not terribly difficult, but will depend on which maps you end up with and what you have available as far as computers/software.

·
Registered
1,128 Posts
I'm not affiliated, related or really know 2TrakR (other than getting his software), but if you haven't bought any other software for your Garmin and want to get snowmobile trails with a decent background map, buy the $45 software at vvmapping.com. (2TrakR's website)

I wish that his software was out before I layed down $80 for US topo. The vvmapping software also includes a green shaded background to let you know your on public land.

If you already have good mapping software for your garmin, you can download free UP snowmobile trails at gpssledmaps.com, but they won't have the green shaded background in all areas to show public land.

my .02

Tony

·
Registered
3,626 Posts
Wondering if there is a downloadable trail map for the U.P. of Michigan area. Then, decent directions on how the heck to use this device to my advantage. I'm new to using this thing.[/b]
I offer a free MI trail map for Garmin GPS units...covers the whole state.