Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What rebuild kit do you guys recommend for primary clutch? I've heard bad things about EPI but I cant find another manufacturer that makes a kit. any help is appreciated.. Picture is for you Don, This is current progress on the 2002. i did the pipes and added the EGTs today. :D she is going to be my pride and joy.

·
Premium Member
199 Posts
First, I have no where near the experience of Phil, Don, Too Slow or most of the guys on here. That being said, I have had Indy Specialties rebuild and balance one of my primaries and it looks and works beautifully. Not the cheapest way to go, but as you stated: " She's going to be my pride and joy." I am going to have another one rebuilt this year.

·
Super Moderator
36,806 Posts
What rebuild kit do you guys recommend for primary clutch? I've heard bad things about EPI but I cant find another manufacturer that makes a kit. any help is appreciated.. Picture is for you Don, This is current progress on the 2002. i did the pipes and added the EGTs today. :D she is going to be my pride and joy. View attachment 2107825
I recommend OEM parts in most cases, not a kit but good quality rebuilding parts.

·
Registered
3,024 Posts
My year working at a place mentioned and the hundreds of clutches I rebuilt. Spider rebuild kits we used Wahl bros. They are great quality. They might even be oem as far as I know. Just built into a kit. As far as bushings, oem is best.

·
Registered
1,159 Posts
I have also rebuilt hundreds of clutches, team kits were great, epi kits also very good, oem stuff if you don’t need everything is sometimes cheaper. Biggest thing is proper tools and removal of the old parts. Cleaning moveable sheave and cover bushing bosses is crucial in getting clutch to work right when done. So to answer your question, spi Kits are not good. EPI and if you can find them, team kits are very good. OEM also good.

·
Registered
35 Posts