Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hi i am very new to snowmobiling and purchased a sled at the end of last year at a very good bargain. ITs a 1999 600 xc with 2200 miles on it. the guy that i bought it from siad that i should changed the chain case oil
any know how to do that? i would liek to try and save moeny and not bring it in to do that

·
Premium Member
4,252 Posts
It's real easy. Underneath the chaincase there is a hole cut out of the bellypan. There you can acess the drain plug. I think you will need an allen wrench to get it out.Unscrew the plug and thats it. then add your new fluid where the dipstick is. :div20:

·
Registered
43,794 Posts
Be very carefull when removing that threaded allen plug....sometimes they are in pretty tight, and its very easy to strip the allen wrench out. Other than that these sleds take roughly 8 oz. of your favorite chaincase oil.

·
Premium Member
4,252 Posts
Originally posted by Too Slow@Sep 20 2005, 05:05 PM
Be very carefull when removing that threaded allen plug....sometimes they are in pretty tight, and its very easy to strip the allen wrench out. Other than that these sleds take roughly 8 oz. of your favorite chaincase oil.
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=884082
[/quote]
I'll agree on that. My buddy stripped his last winter. :doh:

·
Registered
633 Posts
Originally posted by Too Slow@Sep 20 2005, 05:05 PM
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=884082
[/quote]

Whats the best way to get them out after doing this.....mine is in this state as we speak! I tried an easy out but it does not go into the plug far enough to grab decent.

·
Registered
923 Posts
Originally posted by 311Hemi@Sep 23 2005, 04:32 PM
Whats the best way to get them out after doing this.....mine is in this state as we speak!  I tried an easy out but it does not go into the plug far enough to grab decent.
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=889025
[/quote]