Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sorry for starting a new post on this but I may have found something that is important. A little on my background to give you a perspective on how I'm approaching this ECU-top end issue. I sell electrical components (ie, processors, resitors, capacitors, connectors relays etc) and much of my work day consists of designing in these components with engineers. I have an engineering degree so I'm fairly technical. The thing that has bothered me most about this issue is the "intermitance" of it. That lead me to believe that it is not something mechanical (which tend to just get worse and worse until it fails) but electrical. I also thought about my own experience with a 2000 ZR 600 with performance issues where we did change the spark plug caps and it made a world of difference. That being said, I looked at my plugs yesterday and I found that the studs (particularily the PTO side) were black with a residue that rubbed off (not sure what it is but I've not seen it before, maybe oxidation?). The significance of this is that the power that is being put through that connection should "burn" it off and keep it clean (the reason why low power signal connectors have to be gold plated is because they don't have enough power to burn this "carbon" off). I'm not sure if it is in the spark plug caps itself but it definately seems that there may be general lack of power getting to the spark plug itself. Another thing to keep in mind is that that as electrical components get warm (all components resistors, caps whatever) they will "de-rate" (ie become less effective at whatever they're supposed to do). Typically you design components into an application based on the MAX temp it will see, or you will over build it allowing for a de-rate in the component. A long story I know but it would explain (I believe) a lot of what is happening. The harder problem and catmaster you could be the one to tra