Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I ride an 06 Apex. I love the sled overall but am finding the weight of this sled to be an issue on the trails we ride. (Narrow and sometimes full of moguls). to stay with my Buddies in these trails is a work out. They ride Doo XP 800, Polaris XC sp. 700. I find im beat at the end of a 80 mile ride. I have the sled set up with Big Boy spring, Simmons Skis, Studded Track, etc. I have been riding since 1969 and can ride with the best of them, but this sled is beating me up. I want to stay with the 4 Stroke. The Nytro is my next choice.
Can you give me your opinion on the Nytro compaired to the Apex.
I see it has a smaller tank. How far can you ride on a tank full?
Is it a tiring sled to ride all day?
Is it a cold sled to ride?
Does it take the bumps well?
My only other option is to go to a Ski-Doo XP. and i don't want to do that.
Your help would be appreciated. Thanks.

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
I had an 06 Apex GT last year! I liked the sleds overall power and the suspension. I just found it to be too heavy going in and out of twisty tight trails. I was beat at the end of the day. It is a very fast sled though but just to heavy if you want to carve. If your and older rider who just wanst to take your time through the tight trails with the occasionaly straight wide open run. Its a great sled.

Now this year I switched up to the FX Nytro. Its feels and is alot lighter then the Apex. To answer your questions.

1. The Nytro is as cold to ride as the Apex. However you can buy taller windshields and side deflectors for it. Which are ugly in my opinion.

2. I did 80 HARD miles yesterday. The trails were beat to shit. This sled will take the bumps like no other sled I've ridden once you get it setup. A Crossfire rolled over trying to stay with me last night. Once you get the Nytro dialed in its hard to beat through the tight twistie trails. (throw away stock skis)