Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
287 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, ive been saving my nickels for a couple months and I am planning a trip to Wyoming to ride the Snowy Range. I have been to the Bighorns(togwottee) once before and it was amazing, i want to try someoplace different, plus the snowy range is closer. I have wanted to go for the past 3 years again but with school i didnt have the oppertunity. I am now done school and on my feet and ready to make the trip. I am looking to take 2 weeks for the trip. 2 day drive out, 2 day drive back, 10 days out west Im looking to do this around mid to late Febuary maybe even early march if that works better for somebody. Im right outside of concord and id say thats where base camp will be for departure.

I am wondering if anyone is interested in tagging along and splitting the gas and the room. I am looking for one maybe two people who share the same riding style i have. I like to play in meadows and fields, going offtrail and trying stupid things every once and a while. I also enjoy trial riding seeing the scenery and just cruising. The main reason for the trip is to play in the powder and really experience what riding out west is all about. I can trail ride back here in NH. From what everyone says, shorttracks dont really cut it out there, so you may need to look into buying a long track and some rail extensions and either keeping them or reselling them after the trip. A 300 dollar track and some extensions are way cheaper then renting at 200 bucks a day for 9 days.

I have done some rough calculations, its 4500 miles round trip to the snowy range, my truck gets 10-12 highway miles with my sled trailer and gas at roughly 2.20 a gallon it works out to about 850 dollars in gas round trip. cheaper then a plane ticket and you can still bring your own sled and not have to rent at 200 bucks a day. lodging is going to be about 70 a night.