Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Premium Member
2,181 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I own a 98 zr440 and a 01 zr 440,I have been running the exhaust valves in the 98 in the plugged open postion because they are aluminum and won't last long if ran functioning before they fail. The other day I was putting the top end back together on the 01 and had some 98 jugs sitting out next to the 01 jugs. I noticed the holes for the power valves looked identical so I stuck a set of 01 exhaust valves in a 98 jug,they actually fit perfect. I started playing around with the parts trying to figure out how to run the 01 valves,by machining the top boss in a 98 jug flat about .030 thousandth (where there should be a 3rd bolt but isn't) and drilling and tapping a small third hole the 01 valves can be ran safely. You must use the 01 hold down plate and the 98 cage (the piece that holds the valves together and the return spring rest on). I mocked this up on the 98 sled yesterday,I haven't put the third bolt hole in yet or machined the boss but I bolted in the 01 plate and valves using the 2 bottom bolts and drove it around the yard. This mod will be nice as my 98 is real soft on the bottom with the valves plugged open,after trying it with the 01 valves you immediately could feel the bottom end plus it still pulled to 8800 so I know they are opening. A alternative way to do it would be to use a set of 01 jugs as they have the third bolt hole oem. I spent alot of time and money finding 99 jugs,99 valves and a 99 upgrade valve kit to try on the 98 but have held off on running them as I kept blowing it up and didn't want to melt down a 99 jug (they are rare and hardly ever pop up on E-bay). I will be selling the 99 stuff and probably some 98 valves too. I have (3) 99 jugs with good nicasil,1 full set of new 99 upgrade valves in the package,a set of good 99 valves and I think a full set of good 98 valves. I will look thru what I got and if anyones interested I will be selling the