Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Premium Member
113 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well I see that others on here have similar problems. I think mine may be a bit different. I have only owned the sled for a few weeks so I am still learning the quirks with it. I should probably go throught the carbs and give it a once over but the guy I bought it from (someone I know) said he had the carbs cleaned at the beggining of the season.
I hate to do it again, listen to the issues and let me know your ideas. There are two issues that I am having:

First: When I start the sled cold, it takes a few pulls at full choke but it seems to start. It idles and runs alright but when I go to take off for the first time it revs to like 6000 but doesnt seem to want to move. If I rock the sled side to side while feathering the throttle it starts to move and then goes ok. It only does this the first time I take off. Each time I stop after this it has great power to move, and even launch forward. I think that the sled is really rich as it leaves a huge black soot mark in the snow the first time I take off. It is like it is loaded with fuel and it just needs to burn it off before it will go. The previous owner said that he had the carbs cleaned and the needles were upgraded to a newer style. Am I right in thinking this is a rich fuel problem. If so I guess I need to take the carbs off and have a look myself.

Second: I am not sure if this is connected to my first problem but I also took it down my dirt road today (fresh four inches of snow) and I could not get it to go past 70mph. It seemed like it wouldn't rev past 7000 or so. Is this also a rich fuel problem or is it something else like the belt or clutches. I know nothing about clutches so I hope it isn't that. I guess I could try a new belt but I hate to spend the $$$ if this one is alright. It looks ok but maybe I don't know what I am looking for.