Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a Polaris Trail Touring 550 Fan and I'm new to Poalris. It has only 800 miles and is real clean. I've riden it for about 40 miles in one day so far mostly arounf 25 MPH. My question is; are all of these engines noisy? It makes a loud noise at idle (rap, knock, tap, whatever you call it). It's not as noticable at higher revs becasue the exhaust drowns it out. It appears to be coming from the cylinder closest to the clutch. I've checked compression 112+ (cheap gauge) in each cylinder and even. The plugs look identical and if anything a bit oily. I used about 5 gals of gas and less than half a pint of oil. I appreciate any help or guidance that anyone can give. I prefer not to tear down the top end before the end of the season all the shops around here are booked anyway. Thanks.

·
Registered
391 Posts
Hard to tell without actually hearing it but fan-cooled engines are a bit more noisy than liquid engines for sure but not too bad once they reach cruising speeds and above.
What was the weather like? Warm temperatures?
Fan-cooled work a lot better in minus degree C temperatures, if its warm they bog and have to work harder and thus sound noisier.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It was warm, probably 30F or so. I've run it at idle a couple of times since once at 40F and once at 15F and it sounds the same. If both cylinders were doing it I wouldn't be as concerned but it seems to only the clutch side. I pulled the plugs and rotated the engine with the clutch both pistons seems to move easily and by the same amounts (by eye). If all the snow hasn't melted I'm going to go for a ride this weekend. I'll see if it stays the same after I've run it for a while.

·
Registered
391 Posts
As said its hard to say without hearing it but it would be advisable to have it looked at if you are not sure.