Hardcore Sledder banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
844 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone, I would like your honest opinion on the above sled. There is a place here in Ontario that is selling one fairly cheap (or at least I think). Its brand new, never ridden and they are asking 8500 CDN. Forgive my ignorance, but this seems like a good deal? I do not know too much about Polaris as I have been riding Cat for the last 4 years. I am not brand biased and in the market for a new sled. I was considering an F-Cat before I say this listing. I guess my basic questions are there any trouble spots that I should be concerned with if I buy this sled? Engine reliable? Clutching??

Also, as for the suspension. I know its billed to be a capable bump sled – but does it really perform in the real world? Would love some real (honest) opinions. Until know I have never considered a Polaris, but dam, I think the XRs in Orange look awesome. If anyone can help me out, it would be very much appreciated. Thanks

·
Registered
1,030 Posts
I'm jealous. I want one really bad.

·
Registered
2,230 Posts
Price of 8500 CDN is cheap I thought. Isn't that somewhere in $6500 american dollar range??

Pro XR 800 is the most highly evolved of all Polaris trailing arm suspended sleds for aggressive trail riding. If you ride smooth trails and don't look to pound the bumps it could be kinda harsh for you. If you like to crush the bumps then this is the machine for you.

I have an '04 pro x2 which is similar in a lot of ways to the XR 800 and I absolutely love it, and that's coming off an '03 Doo Rev. Many have said if Polaris would have simply styled the pro x line of sleds so they looked dramatically different then the other edge sleds they'd have sold a ton more.

·
Registered
2,778 Posts
That is cheap. They are a little stiff for the average person, other than that it is an awesome sled. Just revalve at your first shock rebuild. In my opinion of course.

Jeff

·
Registered
1,927 Posts