Hardcore Sledder banner

2001 yamaha venture 500 2 up

13K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  morkolo 
#1 ·
I am an absolute novice about snowmobiles. I know practically ZERO! I have been riding 3 & 4 wheelers for years while hunting and I have driven all types of Boats and motors but, I have never "hankered" for a snowmobile until this year when my 8 yr old granson is pushing me hard to get one for the boyh of us.
I am looking at a 2001 Venture 500 2 up for $1750 from a dealer. He claims this sled with reverse and E start is what I should have and he "sacrificing" this price to me as I have been a good customer.
What should I be looking for? I think the sppedometer milage window read 6668.0 if that is possible.
Thanks for any help in advance! thank the Lord for these web sites!!!!!
keith

#2 ·
that is an acceptable price for that sled
it is now 2008
so that sled is 8 years old ( some would say 7)

sleds drop in value quickly to $3500
then stay around $1500-2500 for years

that is a fair bit of milage
i would be looking at a motor rebuild some time soon
you may get lucky and get another 2or 3 thousand miles on it before a rebuild

some go over 20, 000
but most last between 5 and 10 thousand

that is a good size sled
enough power, decent ride, fair milage
not too big
i hope you enjoy many "ad ventures"

#3 ·
that is an acceptable price for that sled
it is now 2008
so that sled is 8 years old ( some would say 7)

sleds drop in value quickly to $3500
then stay around $1500-2500 for years

that is a fair bit of milage
i would be looking at a motor rebuild some time soon
you may get lucky and get another 2or 3 thousand miles on it before a rebuild

some go over 20, 000
but most last between 5 and 10 thousand

that is a good size sled
enough power, decent ride, fair milage
not too big
i hope you enjoy many "ad ventures"[/b]

#5 ·