Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to Skidoo as well as this site.

I recently purchased a 1998 MXZ 500 with 1800 miles. I put on about 200 miles and I had a problem with antifreeze leaking out of the base gasket on the clutch side jug. I decided to replace the pistons and rings while I had the motor apart. I put it all back together and rode for about 150 miles and I have the same problem with the same jug. I used a gasket set I purchased from Dennis Kirk. Is the Skidoo gasket a better quality gasket then the aftermarket ones? Is this normal for this engine? Should I be using some sort of gasket sealer on the gasket when I install it? Is it ok to cut the base gasket in half and do one cylinder at a time?

Is there anyone with knowledge in this area? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Brad

·
Registered
3 Posts
Hey there 'geek,
I am of the school that you do what you gotta do. If you want to cut the base gasket in half (I assume so you don't have to pull the other cylinder), then do it.
My main concern would be both proper torque and torque pattern for that cylinder, but since it's happening again, I would suspect either a warped surface on the base of the cylinder, hair-line crack in the cylinder or perhaps the wrong gasket (are you certain of the model year?). If all seems OK, then I'd think you can add some RTV to the gasket or get a thicker base gasket.

Good luck and keep us posted!
Ed

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Ed,