Hardcore Sledder banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just purchased a 2000 ZRT800. I have already swaped the cylinders with some 900cc ones I had. I am also wondering if the 98 CDI box is better then the 2000? Are they interchangable? I heard something about the 2000's were detuned compaired to the 98? If this is true and I was to swap the 00 cdi for the 98 cdi do I need to change the stator too? Also.. doesnt the 2000 have some kind of throttle sensor for the rack style carbs ? If so and I swapped to the 98 what do you do about this?

I am kinda new to cats and dont know the secrets yet... someone teach me !!

lol

thanx

·
Premium Member
1,873 Posts
Don't put a key in it. You get bad gas once and you will smoke the engine.
The 2000 is the first year that uses the 3D Ignition. it will not interchange with anything from an earlier sled, only a later sled.
It is a good setup also make sure when you clean the carb, you don't forget
to hook up the wiring on the tps on the mag side of the carb rack.
If you forget to hook it up you will also smoke the engine.

·
Registered
83 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Originally posted by snow800@Sep 6 2005, 08:42 PM
Don't put a key in it. You get bad gas once and you will smoke the engine.
The 2000 is the first year that uses the 3D Ignition. it will not interchange with anything from an earlier sled, only a later sled.
It is a good setup also make sure when you clean the carb, you don't forget
to hook up the wiring on the tps on the mag side of the carb rack.
If you forget to hook it up you will also smoke the engine.
<div align="right">index.php?act=findpost&pid=863291
[/quote]

Thank you for your input. I dont think I will put a key in it... I used to advance my timing on my RM250 but I dont want to kill 3 cylinders !! lol.. one isnt too bad but 3 is a lil much. Again thanx....