Reverse: needed or not? Opinions? - HCS Snowmobile Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2016, 07:26 AM   #1 (permalink)
Advanced Member

Default Reverse: needed or not? Opinions?

I should have posted this question before I posted a similar one regarding adding a reverse to my sled...

I'm new to sledding for the most part and I have a question for you vets: A reverse gear: Is it REALLY needed or not?

Obviously I can see the bonus when trailering or getting into a stick... but other than that.. what are your thoughts? Is it worth the extra expense to either buy a sled with a reverse already installed, or modify a sled that didn't originally come with one (if you can modify)?

For me, it would be great for my ailing back and trailering. My trailer isn't currently setup for an in-out operation, but since it already needs a new floor installed, I plan to refit it with a forward ramp when I replace the floor. I can then drive in and out. My trailer already has a tilt-bed, so most of the battle is already done.
As far as my bad back... well, as most of you on here already know.. there are some things (like sledding) that you simply won't give up no matter the cost to your body! LOL! It's the push/pulling on my sled if I get stuck that has me a little worried. I'm not sure how much a reverse helps in backing out of a stick either. I'm guessing that has a lot to do with your track and how well it can grab?

I have a couple of sleds, a 92' Phazer 2 and a 92' Exciter 2. Neither came with a reverse, but apparently you can add it to the Phazer with the right chain-case and a little modifications. I'm not sure about the Exciter. It's a water-burner, so there's all that extra hardware under the hood, so I'm not really looking to reverse it. My Phazer on the other hand, only has 600 miles on it. It's practically new, so I intend on keeping it a while.