Noob With Some Backcountry/ Mountain Riding Questions - HCS Snowmobile Forums

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Reeb

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-26-2016, 06:42 PM   #1 (permalink)

Default Noob With Some Backcountry/ Mountain Riding Questions

Hey guys!

I'm just getting started out in riding and had a few questions. First a little background.

Born in raised in Southern CA and lived in Las Vegas, NV the last 15 years. Just this spring I relocated to Boise, ID and am finally in an area where it would make sense for me to buy a sled.

I have ridden a few times but not many in scheme of things. The last ride I did was in Whistler, CA (about 2 years ago) through a tour group. It was a couple trails on the backside of the Mountain and took us in to some big open power bowls which I loved. I'm an avid snowboarder and looking to do more backcountry riding as well. Living here in Idaho it looks like there is a ton of riding north of Boise and north east in the saw tooths and tetons. I would also like to use the sled to access backcountry spots for snowboarding, so here are my questions.

1) As someone new to this how do I do it safely? I was looking at taking a avalanche training class this year, but besides that and proper backcountry kit (shovel, beacon, food, fire, etc) what else should I know/do?

2) Im guessing this is something you always want to do with a friend? Correct? as in a SHT moment you would have someone to help you out.

3) Any other comments or suggestions are welcome as I just want to make sure I'm being safe about it.
kderentz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-26-2016, 07:58 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned for Life

Current Sled(s): What ever starts
Previous Sled(s): The ones I couldn't start
Favorite Riding Area: DA UP
19-20 Mileage:
18-19 Mileage: 906
Riding Since: 1912

You should get on Snow West. Mostly Midwest and East coast trail peeps on here.
Woodtick is offline   Reply With Quote