Long Distance Touring... - HCS Snowmobile Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-22-2015, 02:41 AM   #1 (permalink)

Question Long Distance Touring...

Hiya guys, im sitting here in Australia in the 40 deg heat and fantasizing bout coming up to Canada for some Snowmobile touring...
im completely new to this sport so ive got no real idea about whats even possible.
What id like to do is 5-7 days of flat trail touring and then in a week or 2 try some more mountainous type touring. Guided of course but i dont really know what else to specify...

This would be part of a 4 week trip (mid jan to mid feb)which will hopefully include driving from Whitehorse or Dawson up to Inuvik, and hopefully a little further north. Assuming this is even possible....research is ongoing!!

cheers walrus
walrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-22-2015, 06:27 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Advanced Member

Current Sled(s): 2009 Ski-Doo 1200 4 TEC
Previous Sled(s): Poo's and Yamaha's
Favorite Riding Area: Manitoba and Saskatchewan
19-20 Mileage:
18-19 Mileage: 1550
17-18 Mileage: Spent season in the Caribbean
16-17 Mileage: 2100
Riding Since: 1983

Well I can help you here and we have quite a bit in common as I was working in Australia Sep-Feb, returning back to the UK on 13 Feb, only to fly to Manitoba on 19 Feb and snowmobile for a week.

First off, the types of riding are very different, that being touring versus mountains. For example, in touring you will ride 175-250 miles per day, try not to get stuck, be dressed in really warm clothing. For the mountains, 50 miles can be a really BIG day, you're not having fun unless you get stuck, and dressing in layers is key as you will be shedding clothing as it warms and as you dig your sled out.

It is not impossible to do both, but you need to recognise they are very different and require a different mindset and equipment.