Hardcore Sledder banner

XC 700 season prep?

776 views 8 replies 5 participants last post by  Drift19 
#1 ·
Hi guys I am new to snowmobiling and am looking for advice on things to inspect and check to make sure the snowmobile is ready to go for the season. I have experience working on and winterizing motorcycles and jet skis so I have a pretty good basic knowledge of the common things on those types of machines but no specifics about snowmobiles as this is my first time owning and riding.

I have a 2002 and 2004 XC 700 that I purchased for the season, they appear to be meticulously maintained by the previous owner as he described the countless maintenance items he has done as well as spare parts that he had. I am looking to get an idea of what I should make sure to get done before the riding season actually starts. One thing I already have in mind is oil change, what else should I inspect/check to make sure my season is head ache less!

Thanks!

#4 · (Edited)
You can see from his maintenance records what has been done and when. If the below items have been taken care of no worry. If not these are some items that need to be looked at on your sleds.

1) Carbs thoroughly cleaned
2) Clean fuel filter
3) Clean chain case oil and chain tension properly adjusted
4) Track tension adjusted
5) All grease zerks working and greased-don't over grease/2 to 3 pumps should do
6) Fresh non oxy gas-My XC XP 600 has the non premium/premium setting on the
switch. I always run 91 non oxy and sled on non premium setting. Most 87 gas is
garbage and some of the 91 isn't so great either (especially bottom of the station fuel
tank or if it has been sitting in the station tank all summer). If you can afford to
snowmobile you can probably afford good gas. Doesn't add up to that much more
over the season and the benefits outweigh the cost (my opinion and experience with
several xc sp's). Some may argue the use of 91 non oxy but that is their choice and yours.