Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is this Square Trade thig a good idea
HCS Snowmobile Forums > Snowmobile Forums > Other Snowmobile Forums > Scam Reports
Stiffler
I have been reading some posts on this ebay scamming and i think i am being scammed I havent sent money out yet but i need to know what to do with what is going on. Here's the deal

I was on Ebay looking at a sled with a pre approved thing to bid sled was a 03 F7 Sno Pro 512 miles buy it now 2500 us dollars w trailer shipped from london england. Emailed him said he moved there because his wifes parents were ill and dying yada yada goes on make the deal and he wanted to use ebays square trade where you wire the money to his adrees tell squaretrade the information they hold the information until i receive my product then they give him the information to get his mony.

Sound like a scam?? or not i want to do an email check but how do i do that? please let me know before i send money out
ZRMan53188
Stiffler, if it seems to good to be true, it usually is! :doh: Flush.gif
fcat503sp
sounds like a scam to me
Stiffler
The thing about it is is the sled that is for sale on ebay is regetered user here on this site as well he sent me all four pics i requested so that is why i kinda had this question if you want i can give out is nick on this site and post the pics he sent me
fcat503sp
interesting it sounds like a scam to me, post thier name, then search all thier posts if they have even posted, see if they really have the sled and trailor. seems like a low price to me and if you really wanted to sell your sled and trailer would you ship it over the atlantic to just turn arround and ship it back? let me guess the seller is covering the shipping costs too?
pjameven
walk away from this one......!! no way would it be that cheap!! tell him you'll pay for it c.o.d. ....i'll bet he doesn't go for that...
SPARKS73
Yea I emailed the SOB and asked him if my friend in South Essex could come over and have i look at it and he has since quit replying to my emails. I have no idea if there is such a town but the pictures were jacked from another auction. He also said he had no lake or sea to ride so was selling, what the heck its not a jetski !!!!
Shawn
Stiffler
:celebrating: well thanks guys you talked me out of it instead i went and purchased a 03 f7 at the local dealer w 1600 miles for the same price not a bad deal
:beer2:
krellheat
SquareTrade is not part of Ebay. Squaretrade also does not handle money transactions. www.squaretrade.com

Squaretrade provides a service, as an intermidiary, between buyers and sellers when there is a dispute. Sellers usually get squaretrade because they will deal with the unhappy buyer. That is it.

Hope you were not scammed.

BTW: Last time he was in Italy. Same ol'BS.
Stiffler
he actually gave me the vin # from the sled im going tomorrow to see if it is legit or is there anyway i can look this up on the net

I told him if i didnt get the vin # there would be no deal well he gave me a vin so i guess i will look it up
Stiffler
Wow1.gif well i did a vin check on the sled found out is registered to a gentelman in canada did a search for the guys name on the internet found out the sled is stolen and there is a reward for it :augen41: any way to look up an aol email address??
krellheat
/|\ ooh4.gif


I would pass that information to your local police authorities ASAP. And also to EBay. Ebay will keep it confidential.

The authorities will pass on the information to other authorities. It is against most country's laws to sell stolen goods. And also buying them gets you in trouble.

Keep us posted.
Stiffler
well Ebay and my local authorities and the original owners authorities have been notified its just trying to find out where the sled is at and who the guy is that keeps emailing me i have his email address its registered at AOL.com is there any way i can track that down
:banghead: :banghead: :banghead:
krellheat
QUOTE(Stiffler @ Dec 3 2004, 08:18 PM)
well Ebay and my local authorities and the original owners authorities have been notified its just trying to find out where the sled is at and who the guy is that keeps emailing me i have his email address its registered at AOL.com is there any way i can track that down
:banghead:  :banghead:  :banghead:
*



I belive AOL will provide that information to the authorities if they ask.
snowmobilemods.com
squaretrade is dispute resolution like the above post mentions. I believe the right word is escrow. A company that holds the money until goods can be inspected and then dispurses the money. It makes you feel safe but all of these scammers just use software that lets them mimic an escrow site. Then they steal your bank account information too. stay away from escrow, stay away from sleds that are a super deal on ebay. Stay away from sellers in England!!!! Just words of warning. Most of the scammers go for big $ items at prices to good to be true, like brand new laptops and that is where I have seen the fake escrow sites setup. Most of the laptop scammers are from england so beware.
krellheat
Well said. Now if everyone would actually heed by it.

Is there any particular reason why England appears to be the source of most scammers? Just curious.

The Queen of England, she has stuff on Ebay right now. The Crown Jewels, American Colonies, Bermuda and other third world plots -- real cheap.
Stiffler
from what i can tell the guy isnt in england at all i read up on ip tracking so i took apart his email header (has all the info you ever wanted about where it comes from what computers it goes through etc) and got a couple of ip address out of the and from what im getting he is either in Kansas City, MO or Columbus OH these are the to most common ips that are found but a really od thing I also found is this email is transfered through the Defense Intelligence Agency in Washington, DC Weird Huh could this be another Roswell, But alot of them are AOL address also right to their headquarters (duh he has an AOL email address).
flylake
QUOTE(Stiffler @ Nov 29 2004, 11:18 PM)
I have been reading some posts on this ebay scamming and i think i am being scammed I havent sent money out yet but i need to know what to do with what is going on.  Here's the deal

I was on Ebay looking at a sled with a pre approved thing to bid sled was a 03 F7 Sno Pro 512 miles buy it now 2500 us dollars w trailer shipped from london england. Emailed him said he moved there because his wifes parents were ill and dying yada yada goes on make the deal and he wanted to use ebays square trade where you wire the money to his adrees tell squaretrade the information they hold the information until i receive my product then they give him the information to get his mony.

Sound like a scam?? or not i want to do an email check but how do i do that? please let me know before i send money out
*



C'mon dude - this scam is so obvious it smells from here. If you can't see it, touch it and test it - DON'T BID ON IT.
flylake
QUOTE(krellheat @ Dec 5 2004, 12:36 AM)
Well said.  Now if everyone would actually heed by it.

Is there any particular reason why England appears to be the source of most scammers?  Just curious. 

The Queen of England, she has stuff on Ebay right now.  The Crown Jewels, American Colonies, Bermuda and other third world plots -- real cheap.
*


YES - England is also the source of many computer related scams too. It is because England has very liberal immigration laws for people from the middle east, India, and of african descent - the source of most of these scams - and the fact that England has a very very weak judicial system. The penalty for getting caught is but a slap on the wrist. Not even deportation. Usually just a small fine or 3 days in jail.

I used to work with the FBI tracking down computer scammers and in the end, it wasn't worth the time. We could provide all the proof in the world, but we could never get a conviction. That country's judicial system is so messed up, I'm surprised their economy functions at all.

As with all things, buyer beware.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.