Tucker VS PB - HCS Snowmobile Forums

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-19-2006, 11:35 AM   #1 (permalink)

OK this forum needs some controversy. Our club currently has two tucker terras. We have been having some track issues and several members of the club are poo pooing tucker and looking for differant machines. In the past we had a BR180 and while it did have some pluses we felt overall the tucker was a better machine. Which is how we ended up with two. Because of the swamps and lake we cross the lightest psi is a plus. Piston Bully looks interesting. Does anyone have any experience with both to give good feed back? Or just PB. Thanks is advance.
upnorth500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-19-2006, 12:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Advanced Member

Current Sled(s): 2004 Sabercat LX EXT
Favorite Riding Area: Right here at home
11-12 Mileage: 68
10-11 Mileage: 1600
Riding Since: 1973

Just an opinion........

I have limited experience with PBs but several thousand hours on two tracks. If your trails are anything like ours, the corners get icy. Two track machines pulling drags on icy corners are useless. Thats the beauty of a four track machine is you have full power to all tracks no matter what.

I haven't heard of a set of tucker rubber tracks lasting more than 2500 hours and many reports of only 1500 hours. At $20,000 for replacements, they aren't cost effective. Don't forget, Tucker still makes steel track machines. The dealers don't want to sell them because they can't get rid of the trade-ins. Everyone wants the nice riding rubber tracks.

PB is a cleated machine. Granted they have rubber pads, but still metal cleats. Same issues.

With all of that said, Pisten Bully is the absolute Cadillac of two tracks. Now that they have come out with the Trail Bully (longer tracks, extra axle, large cab), they are a real contender in the trail grooming market.